Islamabad United set the highest total in the Pakistan Super League (PSL) history as Usman Khawaja scored unbeaten 105 runs to defeat Peshawar Zalmi in the 26th match of the PSL-6 at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi on Thursday.

The Zalmi were chasing a 248-run target set by United in a high-scoring game, and both teams contributed to the highest PSL match aggregate ever.

Peshawar lost Zazai at the very first ball of the inning. Wicket-keeper batsman Kamran Akmal and Malik combined for the first substantial stand: Shoaib Malik (36-ball 68) and Kamran Akmal (53 off 32).

Akif Javed dismissed Rovman Powell to get his third wicket of the match and put some pressure on Zalmi

In the next over, Hussain Talat sent Malik to pavilion to change the game in Islamabad’s favor.

In the end, Captain Wahab Riaz and Umaid Asif took the attack and attempted to complete a record chase but they fell just short of their target.

Raiz cracked two sixes and a boundary to score 28 while Umaid hit two boundaries and a six to make 20.

Peshawar ended their innings with 232/6, making it the third-highest total in PSL’s history

Islamabad United’s innings

In the first innings , Usman Khawaja’s century helped United post 247 runs, making it the highest total in PSL’s history.

Munro and Khawaja set the tone early for United and took Islamabad to 98 runs before Munro was clean bowled by Shoaib Malik during the 10th over.

Usman Khawaja smashed 13 boundaries and three sixes during his remarkable knock.

Asif Ali also shows with his power-hitting skills and added 43 runs in 14 balls with five sixes and two boundaries. Brendon King also scored 46 (not out) including three sixes and five boundaries.


Islamabad United: Colin Munro, Usman Khawaja (capt), Brandon King, Hussain Talat, Iftikhar Ahmed, Asif Ali, Muhammad Akhlaq (wk), Hasan Ali, Zafar Gohar, Fawad Ahmed, Akif Javed

Peshawar Zalmi: Kamran Akmal (wk), Hazratullah Zazai, Imam-ul-Haq, Shoaib Malik, Rovman Powell, Sherfane Rutherford, Abrar Ahmed, Wahab Riaz (capt), Umaid Asif, Waqar Salamkheil, Sameen Gul


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here