Polling is underway in Tharparkar for NA-221 by-election where Pakistan People Party (PPP) is up against Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) and 10 other candidates.

The polling in the constituency began at 8am and is expected to continue till 5pm.

For PPP, Pir Ameer Ali Shah Jilani is contesting the election while PTI has fielded Nizamuddin Rahimoon. This seat was vacant after PPP’s leader Pir Noor Muhammad Shah Jillani death who passed away due to COVID-19 in Karachi.

The constituency has a total of 318 polling stations with 281,900 registered votes, according to the District Returning Officer (DRO). 95 polling stations among 318 have been declared extremely sensitive while 130 have been declared sensitive.

To counter any law and order situation, 2,000 police and Ranger personnel have been deployed outside polling stations.

CCTV cameras have been installed in extremely sensitive polling stations.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here