On Tuesday, the Ministry of Planning, Development and Special Initiatives stated that presently the China Pakistan Economic Corridor (CPEC) Authority didn’t have a chairman. In response to this disclosure, the National Assembly questioned the legality and the structure of CPEC’s management.

During a meeting of the standing committee, MNA Syed Agha Rafiullah asked who the CPEC Authority’s chairman was, in response to which Planning and Development Secretary, Mathar Niaz Rana said ‘No one’.

The meeting was attended by MNAs Sher Akbar Khan, Saleh Muhammad, Syed Faizul Hassan, Nawab Sher, Sardar Nasrullah Khan Dreshak, Imran Khattak, Muhammad Sajjad, Muhammad Junaid Anwar Chaudhary, Sardar Muhammad Irfan Dogar, Naveed Dero, Syed Agha Rafiullah and Abdul Shakoor.

Following this, the planning ministry was immediately made to release this news to the press via a statement.

Previously, the NA committee reviewed ‘The China Pakistan Economic Corridor Authority (Amendment) Bill, 2020’, which states that the status of CPEC’s CEO will be eradicated and instead a chairman will assume authority. He will be appointed by the Prime Minister and will report only to him.

The members asked for some time to examine the bill and probe into it. The committee unanimously decided to defer the bill till its next meeting

The former author has majored in Political Science and Media. She is a Film and History enthusiast who hopes to be a war reporter. Currently, she writes about socio-political issues. She can be reached at shayannaveed@thecorrespondent.pk


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here