The Federal Board of Revenue will publish the Active Taxpayers’ List (ATL) for tax year 2020 on March 1 in accordance with the provisions of Rule 81B of Income Tax Rules, 2002. The current list comprises names of tax payers for year 2019.

The ATL is a central record of online income tax return filers for the previous tax year. ATL is published every financial year on March 1 and is valid up to the last day of February of the next financial year.

A person on the ATL can avail many benefits. They are not subjected to withholding tax on cash withdrawals, other banking transactions, payment of fee to educational institutions, etc. Similarly, for such persons, tax on imports, dividends, goods, services and contracts, profit on debt, prize and winnings, purchase of motor vehicles, purchase and sale of property, etc. is withheld at a lesser rate.

The ATL will include the names of those who have filed income tax returns for tax year 2020 within the due date or the dates extended by the Commissioner Inland Revenue. Subsequently, ATL will be updated on weekly basis every Sunday at 2400 hours. It is available on FBR’s website as well as Tax Asaan App.  ATL status of individuals can also be checked by typing message “ATL (space) 13 digits Computerised National Identity Card (CNIC)” and sending to 9966. For checking ATL status of AOP or a Company one will have to type “ATL (space) 7 digits National Tax Number (NTN)” and sending to 9966.

People who have filed income tax returns after the due date or extended dates have to pay a surcharge for inclusion in ATL. Companies will have to pay surcharge of Rs20,000 and AOPs and Individuals will have to pay surcharge of Rs10,000 for inclusion in ATL.

Hamza Habib is a senior journalist and former editor of who has previously worked for leading newspapers and TV networks of the country. He mainly writes on the economy and political issues.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here