On Sunday, the Chief Selector Muhammad Wasim announced Pakistan’s T20I squad for the home series against South Africa. Once again, Muhammad Wasim has given preference to domestic performers.

The leg spinner Zahid Mehmood has been rewarded for his prolific run in the domestic season. All rounders Amad Butt and Aamer Yamin have also been given a chance.

Abdullah Shafique, Fakhar Zaman, Muhammad Musa and Wahab Riaz have been dropped from the side. Shadab Khan is yet to recover from the injury he picked up in New Zealand while Imad Wasim is unavailable due to personal reasons.

Muhammad Hafeez wasn’t considered for the series as he is currently playing T10 league in Abu Dhabi and won’t be able to join bio-bubble in time.

Speaking about Hafeez’s omission from the squad, Wasim said: “Hafeez is in prolific form and he would have been part of the squad if he was available. Unfortunately, he won’t be able to join the bio-bubble [due to participation in T10 League] by February 3 which is why we have not considered him for the series. Following the Covid-19 protocols is mandatory for everyone involved.”

The Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore will host all matches between Pakistan and South Africa.

Pakistan Squad for South Africa T20Is

Babar Azam (c), Haider Ali, Khushdil Shah, Hussain Talat, Danish Aziz, Asif Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz, Zafar Gohar, Faheem Ashraf, Aamer Yamin, Ammad Butt, Mohammad Rizwan, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Hasnain, Hasan Ali, Usman Qadir, Zahid Mehmood.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here