The United States has allowed the visa applicants from Muslim countries whose applications were turned down due to Trump’s “Muslim ban” to reapply for visa, announced the State Department.
President Joe Biden overturned Trump’s Muslim ban on January 20 when he assumed the office, calling it “a stain on our national conscience”.
Former president Donald Trump had imposed travel ban on 13 Muslim majority countries.
State Department spokesman Ned Price said on Monday that applicants who were refused visas prior to January 20, 2020, must submit new applications and pay a new application fee.
Those who were denied on or after January 20, 2020, may seek reconsideration without resubmitting their applications and do not have to pay additional fees, Price added.
Applicants selected in the diversity visa lottery prior to the current fiscal year are barred by US law from being issued visas if they have not gotten them already, he said.
The diversity lottery aims to accept immigrants from countries that are not normally awarded many visas.
Since December 2017, after a revised version of the original travel ban was upheld by the US Supreme Court, some 40,000 people have been barred from entering the US under the ban, according to State Department data.
During the Trump administration’s term some countries were added and others dropped from the list.
At the end of his presidency, it comprised Myanmar, Eritrea, Iran, Kyrgyzstan, Libya, Nigeria, North Korea, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Tanzania, Venezuela and Yemen.

The story was filed by the News Desk. The Desk can be reached at


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here