Former champions Quetta Gladiators’ hopes to qualify for playoffs of Pakistan Super League’s sixth edition were dashed on Wednesday night after a record 110-run thumping by the Multan Sultans at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi.

Quetta asked Multan to bat after winning the toss set a daunting 184-run victory target.

Shan Masood played a remarkable knock of 73 runs of 42 deliveries, smashing seven boundaries and four sixes. Shan and Rizwan provided a a solid 72-run start to Multan.

Shan had also brief 37-run partnership with Johnson Charles who went on to score 47 laced with two sixes and five boundaries.

Imran Tahir took three wickets for just seven runs, and Imran Khan grabbed two wickets. Sohail Tanvir, Blessing Muzarabani, and Shahnawaz Dhani shared a wicket apiece for Multan.

Quetta’s bad run with the bat continued as they were dismissed for paltry 73 runs – the second lowest total in PSL history after Lahore Qalandar’s 59 in 2017.

A couple of run outs and loss of four wickets for no run in the space of five deliveries sealed the fate of 2019 champions.


Multan Sultans: Mohammad Rizwan (c), Asif Afridi, Hammad Azam, Imran Tahir, Imran Khan Snr, Johnson Charles, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Umar, Blessing Muzarabani, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Rilee Rossouw, Shahnawaz Dhani, Shan Masood, Sohaib Maqsood, Sohaibullah, Sohail Khan, Sohail Tanvir, Usman Qadir and Muhammad Waseem.

Quetta Gladiators: Sarfaraz Ahmed (c), Abdul Nasir, Arish Ali Khan, Azam Khan, Cameron Delport, Hassan Khan, Jack Wildermuth, Jake Weatherald, Khurram Shehzad, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Usman Khan, Usman Shinwari, Zahid Mahmood and Zahir Khan


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here