Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) President Shehbaz Sharif has suggested names for the appointment as members in the Punjab and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa election commissions.

Shehbaz suggested the names in response to Prime Minister Imran Khan’s letter seeking names for the Election Commission of Pakistan’s Punjab and KP slots.

The leader of the opposition in the Punjab Assembly Shehbaz suggested the names of Justice (retd) Tariq Iftikhar Ahmed, Justice (retd) Mushtaq Ahmed, Muhammad Javed Anwar, Khalid Masood Chaudhry, Irfan Qadir and Irfan Ali for Punjab.

He suggested the names of Syed Afsar Shah, Sardar Hussain Shah and Sohail Altaf for the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province.

The two posts of the ECP fell vacant after the retirement of members from Punjab and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa on July 26.      

Federal Minister for Information Fawad Chaudhry had said that Prime Minister Imran Khan had written a letter to Shehbaz Sharif last month for the appointment of members to the ECP under Articles 213 and 218 of the Constitution.

The prime minister had suggested three names each for the two vacant seats in Punjab and KP. For Punjab, he suggested Ahsan Mehboob, a retired BS-22 officer from the police service; Raja Aamir Khan, an advocate at Supreme Court of Pakistan; and Syed Pervaiz Abbas, a retired BS-22 officer from Pakistan Administrative Service.

For Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, PM had recommended retired justice Ikramullah Khan, Faridullah Khan, a retired BS-22 officer from Pakistan Administrative Service, and Muzammil Khan an advocate at Pakistan Supreme Court.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here