The 11-party opposition alliance, the Pakistan Democratic Movement (PDM) has got nomination papers for the chairman and deputy chairman of the Senate.

The PDM has named Yousaf Raza Gilani for the office of chairman and Maulana Abdul Ghafoor Haideri for his deputy.

The nomination papers were collected by PPP leaders Sherry Rehman and Farooq Naik, and JUI’s Abdul Ghafoor Haideri and Maulana Atta-ur-Rehman. They got three sets of papers for both the posts.

They also obtained a sample of ballot paper from the Senate secretary. The green ballot paper is for the chairman and pink for the deputy chairman.

The chairman and deputy chairman of the Senate will be elected tomorrow. The government has nominated incumbent Chairman Sadiq Sanjrani for the office while his deputy’s name will be finalized soon.

The writer is a member of staff The reporting desk can be reached at


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here