The sales tax on petrol has been reduced by 5.93 per cent. Currently, the sales tax on petrol is 10.77 per cent, which was earlier 16.7 per cent.

As per the notification, 17 per cent sales tax on high-speed diesel remains the same. Similarly, Kerosene sales tax is kept at 6.70 per cent.

Earlier, the federal government of Pakistan revised sale tax rates on petroleum products by exercising the powers conferred to the executive by the Sale Tax Act 1990.

The Federal Board of Revenue said that the GST on Kerosene was reduced to 6.70 per cent from 9.15 per cent. The tax rate on light diesel has been reduced to 0.20 per cent from 2.74 per cent earlier.

The writer is a member of staff The reporting desk can be reached at


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here