The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has issued notices to the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), Tehreek-e-Labbaik Pakistan, and Balochistan National Party-Mengal (BNP-M) over their failure to conduct intra-party elections within the given time frame, reports said.

In a notice issued to PTI Chairman Imran Khan, the election watchdog said that all parties were bound to conduct intra-party elections in line with the Election Act.

It added that the PTI chief failed to conduct party elections and submitting the information concerning the same to the ECP by June 13, 2021. It said that PTI could lose its electoral symbol for failure to comply with the ECP directives. The PM has been given 14 days to submit a response in this case.

Besides PTI, BNP led Akhar Mengal and Saad Rizvi-led TLP, a party suspended by the ECP in the light of violent protests over blasphemy issue, have also been told to submit their response.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here