The ruling Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) on Saturday released the final list of candidates to be nominated for the upcoming Senate elections.

The Parliamentary Board met with party leader Prime Minister Imran Khan in Islamabad today to shortlist 20 candidates for nomination.

From Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Shibli Faraz, Mohsin Aziz, Zeeshan Khanzada, Faisal Saleem and Najiullah Khattak were given tickets on general seats. Dost Muhammad Mehsud and Dr Humayun Mohmand were selected as PTI’s candidates on technocrat seats.

From Punjab, Saifullah Khan Nyazee (North Punjab), Ejaz Ahmad Chaudhary (Central Punjab) and Aon Abbas Buppi (Southern Punjab) were PTI tickets on general seats. Barrister Ali Zafar was selected as PTI’s candidate on a technocrat seat. Gurdeep Singh was chosen as PTI’s candidate on the reserved seat for minorities.

From Balochistan Abdul Qadir, a PTI-BAP joint candidate, was selected for a general seat.

From Sindh, Faisal Vawda has been given a ticket for a general seat, while Saifullah Abrro is PTI’s candidate for a technocrat seat.

For Islamabad, Finance Minister Dr Abdul Hafeez Sheikh was given a ticket on a general seat, while Fauzia Arshad was selected for a reserved seat.

On reserved seats for women, Dr Sania Nishtar, Falak Naz Chitrali, and Dr Zarka were selected as party canidates.

The Election Commission of Pakistan today extended the date to file nomination papers for the election to February 15. The Senate elections will take place on March 3, 2021.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here