Prime Minister Imran Khan, Asif Ali Zardari and Shehbaz Sharif cast their votes in the Senate election on Wednesday.

Imran Khan cast his vote in the National Assembly. As the premier entered the hall, PTI members accorded him a warm welcome. They also raised slogans in his favour.

When the election official called Imran Khan’s name, he went to the Returning Officer and cast his vote.

Later he met Dr Hafeez Sheikh and other members of the party and left the assembly.

As he was casting his vote, the members of the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) started raising slogans and the Chief Election Commissioner forbade them from sloganeering.

National Assembly Speaker Asad Qaiser, PPP chairperson Bilawal Bhutto Zardari and Leader of the Opposition Shehbaz Sharif also cast their votes.

Former president and PPP co-chairperson Asif Ali Zardari also cast his vote, but after committing an error.

As Asif Zardari was about to stamp his ballot paper, his hands shook and he marked at the wrong box, due to which his ballot paper was spoiled.

The former president applied for a new ballot paper and he was obliged and issued a new ballot paper. And this time he successfully cast his vote.

Former prime Minister Yousaf Raza Gilani also cast his vote.

As he alighted his car outside the National Assembly, media men surrounded him and asked about the prospective result. “The PPP has already won,” was the prompt reply from the former premier.

“We have achieved what we wanted,” added Gilani.

About the video of his son, he called it a planted video.

Meanwhile, 340 of 341 votes have been cast for Senate elections till quarter to three in the afternoon.

The Jamaat-i-Islami decides not to cast vote for the Senate polls. The Jamaat has one seat the National Assembly.

The results are expected to be announced at 6pm for Islamabad while in other assemblies the results would be announced at 7pm.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here