Prime Minister Imran Khan congratulated government-backed candidates Sadiq Sanjrani and Mirza Mohammad Afridi for winning the election of Chairman and Deputy Chairman in the Senate despite the opposition’s majority in the upper house.

“Congratulations to Sadiq Sanjrani and Mirza Mohammad Afridi on winning Senate Chairman and Deputy Chairman elections,” tweeted the premier.

According to Imran Khan, he was happy that the coveted Senate slots were secured by lawmakers from Balochistan and erstwhile Federally Administered Tribal Areas (FATA) in line with his policy of mainstreaming these regions.

On Friday, the government-backed candidates, Sadiq Sanjrani and Mirza Mohammad Afridi, emerged victorious in a hotly contested election. Sanjrani retained his office of chairman by defeating Pakistan Democratic Movement (PDM) candidate Yousaf Raza Gilani 48-43, with Gilani’s seven votes rejected.

Mirza Mohammad Afridi of the opposition alliance PDM upset Maulana Abdul Ghafoor Haideri for the office of deputy chairman with 54 votes. Maulana Haideri received 44 votes.

The Senate re-elected Sanjrani, who will be serving till March 2024.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here