Lahore Press Club (LPC) concluded its polls for the LPC Governing body’s election for 2021 held on Sunday at Shimla Pahari. 

LPC is Pakistan’s second-largest journalistic fraternity after Karachi Press Club, with members numbering around 2600 (including life members). The membership showed a high turn-out for the polls.

According to election commission headed by Shafiq Awan confirmed the casting of 1938 members’ votes after polling closed at 7:30 pm. According to LPC’s election history of four decades, the contest is usually between the Journalist Group and Progressive Group, which surprisingly changed this year. Arshad Ansari, the Journalist Group’s presidential candidate, was in a contest against Progressive Group’s Abdul Majeed Sajid and the newly emerged group Friend’s Baber Dogar.  

This election will decide nine governing body members, including the President, Secretary, Sr. Vice President, Vice President, Joint Secretary, and Finance secretary.

The author and former editor of has been working in the field for 15 years, focusing on sports, crime and investigative reports.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here