The opposition on Monday filed a no-confidence motion against Punjab Chief Minister Usman Bazdar.

The no-confidence motion has the signatures of Rana Mashhood, Ramzan Siddique, Malik Ahmed and Mian Naseer Ahmed.

A total 126 lawmakers from the opposition parties have signed the no-confidence motion against Buzdar, said PML-N’s Rana Mashood, adding that 119 members signed the requisition for a session.

The joint opposition in the Punjab Assembly questioned the performance of the chief minister in the no-trust motion.

The text of the resolution said that Chief Minister Bazdar was not trusted by the majority of the House and the affairs of Punjab were not being conducted in accordance with the constitution.

Following the submission of a no-confidence motion by the opposition, the Speaker is now constitutionally bound to convene the assembly in 14 days.

The chief minister cannot dissolve the assembly after the submission of a no-confidence motion against him.

Earlier, it was reported that Buzdar has prepared a summary to dissolve the assembly. He may may sign the document when PM Imran Khan gives him a signal to do so.

It is to be noted that the opposition parties have also filed a no-confidence motion against Prime Minister Imran Khan which has been on the agenda of the National Assembly session being held today.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here