The Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) is all set to retain the National Assembly constituency NA-133 in Lahore as its candidate Shaista Pervaiz Malik is leading the field, according to unofficial results.

According to unofficial, preliminary results from 205 of 254 polling stations, Shaista Malik had polled 37,139 votes. PPP’s Aslam Gill is following her with 23,684 votes.

If the PML-N retained the NA-133 constituency, it would be its fourth victory. The PML-N has retained the seat thrice in the past with Pervaiz Malik winning in 2018, Waheed Alam Khan in 2013, and Naseer Bhutta in 2008.

The polling started at 8 am and continued till 5 pm without a break. Voters’ turnout in the by-elections was low.

Polling stations remained deserted in the morning hours which increased to a few more by the afternoon. At the close of polling time, voter participation improved slightly.

The NA-133 seat fell vacant after the death of MNA Pervaiz Malik on October 11.

There were 11 candidates contesting the polls.

After the Election Commission rejected the nomination papers of PTI candidate Jamshed Iqbal Cheema and his covering candidate, his wife Mussarat Cheema, no PTI candidate was in the race.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here