Imran Khan was removed from the office of prime minister after midnight on Sunday as the joint opposition adopted its no-confidence motion by 174 votes to none in a National Assembly session chaired by PML-N leader and former speaker Ayaz Sadiq.

Ayaz, who was chairing the session after Asad Qaiser resigned as speaker, announced the result, after which Imran Khan ceased to hold the office of prime minister, according to Article 95 of the Constitution.

Members of National Assembly casting their votes on a no-confidence resolution against Imran Khan on Sunday.

Imran Khan is the first prime minister in Pakistan’s history to have been removed from office through a no-confidence vote. Before him, Shaukat Aziz in 2006, and Benazir Bhutto in 1989, survived the moves against them.

PML-N spokesperson Marriyum Aurangzeb said Ayaz Sadiq could not cast his vote as he was chairing the session. PTI dissenting members did not cast their votes either.

Before adjourning the session, Ayaz said the nomination papers for the new prime minister may be submitted by 2 pm on Sunday (April 10) and scrutiny would be done by 3 pm. He summoned the session on Monday at 11 am and said the new premier would be elected then.

Later, it was announced that the assembly would meet at 2:00 pm instead.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here