Emirates has announced that it will be extending its ban on passenger flights from Pakistan until July 15.

Reports in local media suggest that the flag carrier of the United Arab Emirates on Saturday announced suspending flights from Pakistan, Bangladesh, and Sri Lanka till July 15 in light of the government’s directives.

‘In line with UAE government directives, Emirates will be suspending the carriage of passengers from Bangladesh, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka to Dubai until July 15, 2021,’ a statement issued by UAE’s largest airline cited.

It further announced not to carry any traveler who connected through Pakistan, Bangladesh or Sri Lanka in the last 2 weeks. However, it stated that ‘UAE Nationals, holders of UAE Golden Visas and members of diplomatic missions are exempt and may be accepted for travel.

Read More: Pakistan sees a rise in COVID-19 cases as vaccination slows down

On June 28, the Gulf state extended the ban on inbound flights from 14 countries including Pakistan till July 21, 2021, a notification issued by the UAE’s General Civil Aviation Authority (GCAA) stated.

In the last 24 hours, Pakistan recorded 29 fatalities due to COVID-19 while 1,228 people tested positive, according to the latest statistics released by the National Command and Operation Centre (NCOC). Most casualties were seen in the province of Sindh followed by Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP).

As of July 4, the total active COVID-19 cases in Pakistan stand at 32,621. On Tuesday, 47,832 tests were conducted with Sindh conducting 16,120; Punjab: 17,406; Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP): 10,319; Islamabad(ICT): 1,862; Balochistan: 935; Gilgit-Baltistan(GB): 495 and Azad Kashmir (AJK): 695.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here