South Korea dramatically won the Men’s Asian Champions Trophy in a shoot-out with Japan, winning their first title at the competition, at the Maulana Bhasani Hockey Stadium in Dhaka.

Lee Hye-seung sealed the gold medal by scoring his team’s fourth goal, while two Japanese misses ended their chance of a first Asian Champions Trophy.

It was South Korea who opened the scoring in the eighth minute through Jeong Jun-woo, but the momentum went the way of Japan before half-time thanks to goals from Ken Nagayoshi and Ryoma Ooka.

Japan scored a third and looked on their way to victory when Yoshika Kirishita scored in the 38th, but a late double by Jang Jong-hyun remarkably took the match to penalties.

Jang scored in the 55th, before getting the equaliser in the last seconds to make it 3-3.

South Korean captain Lee Jung-jun, Ji Woo-cheon and Hwang Tae-il netted in the shoot-out before Lee scored the winner.

Raiki Fujishima missed Japan’s opener and Kosei Kawabe missed the third, meaning Ryoma Ooka and captain Seren Tanaka’s goals were meaningless.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here