Ruling PTI candidate Umar Amin Gandapur defeated JUI-F’s Mohammad Kafeel Ahmed in Dera Ismail Khan (DIK) to become mayor in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) local government (LG) elections on Sunday.

According to the unofficial results, Umar, who is also the brother of Minister for Kashmir Affairs and Gilgit-Baltistan Ali Amin Gandapur, has been elected by bagging more than 24,000 more votes than Kafeel.

Umar secured 63,753 votes, while Kafeel managed to get 38,891 votes.

On Sunday, following the directions of the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), re-polling was conducted at different polling stations in 13 districts for local government elections in KP.

During the first phase of KP local government elections in December 2021, polling was subsequently suspended or could not start in many districts due to riots and a deteriorating law and order situation.

According to unofficial results, the PTI candidates have won the elections in six constituencies while JUI-F secured four seats in the re-polling for the first phase of LG polls.

However, the Awami National Party (ANP) and Jamaat-e-Islami (JI) managed to win one seat each.

Peshawar Mayor was won by JUI-F, while PTI won in Nowshehra, Jahangera, Banda Daud Shah, Domail and Dera Ismail Khan Tehsil Council elections.

Awami National Party’s (ANP) Himayatullah was elected as the mayor of Mardan with 56,458 votes, followed by the JUI-F’s Amanat Shah Haqqani with 49,938 votes. The JUI-F’s candidates had secured the remaining three seats as mayors in Kohat, Bannu, and Peshawar.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here