Serie A leaders Napoli humiliate Juventus 5-1 to show their title credentials

Napoli yet again proved their title credentials as they thrashed Juventus 5-1 on Friday in an important Serie A clash – a result which propelled them 10 points clear of the second placed Old Lady as the first half of the season will close on next week.

This result can be described as their most important victory in the campaign as Juventus were seven points shy of the leaders – in a position to reduce the margin to just four. However, two of Napoli’s most influential players combined to enable the team produce a sensational performance in their bid for a first Serie A title since 1990.

Juventus had won eight games in a row without conceding but that record was ruthlessly ended at the Diego Armando Maradona Stadium.

Victor Osimhen scored twice with Khvicha Kvaratskhelia, Amir Rrahmani and Elif Elmas also on target. Angel di Maria responded for Juventus, who slip to third as a result.

Osimhen opened the scoring for Napoli and then provided the pass for Kvaratskhelia to double their lead, but Di Maria hit back before the break.

Rrahmani restored the hosts’ two-goal advantage 10 minutes after half-time and from there Luciano Spalletti’s side were rampant.

Georgian star Kvaratskhelia picked out Osimhen with a superb cross and the Nigeria striker headed in his 12th Serie A goal of this season.

Elmas’ deflected effort completed the scoring, as Juventus conceded five goals in a game in the competition for the first time since May 1993.

Massimiliano Allegri’s side had only conceded seven in the top flight this season beforehand and sit third, level on points with second-placed AC Milan.

But this was a breathless Napoli display, one that underlines the hosts’ credentials for a first Serie A title since Maradona was in their ranks 33 years ago. Maradona was also the force behind their first ever Scudetto win in 1987.

On the other hand, Juventus have been the Italian champions on 36 occasions while Milan – the current title holders – lifted the trophy 19 times.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here