Speaker accepts resignations of another 35 PTI MNAs

National Assembly Speaker Raja Pervaiz Ashraf on Friday accepted the resignations of another 35 PTI lawmakers, just days after accepting the resignations of 34 of them as political maneuvering peaks in the country.

The PTI had resigned en masse from the Lower House of Parliament following the ouster of it chief Imran Khan from the office of prime minister in April last year.

Subsequently, the speaker had accepted only 11 of the resignations, stating that the remaining lawmakers would be summoned individually for verification. On Tuesday, Ashraf accepted 34 more as the PTI hinted it would “test” Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif with a confidence vote.

“In accordance with clause (1) of Article 64 of the Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, read with Rule 43 of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in the National Assembly of Pakistan 2007, the Hon’ble Speaker of the National Assembly of Pakistan has been pleased to accept the resignations of the following Members of the National Assembly with effect from April 11, 2022, the date when the letter of respective resignations was submitted,” the statement released by the National Assembly Secretariat read.

Following the approval of the resignations, the summary was sent to the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) to denotify the PTI lawmakers.

After the acceptance of 80 resignations since July, the strength of PTI MNAs in the assembly has shrunk to 73, including the dissidents.

Following are the names of those whose resignations were accepted Friday:

Dr Haider Ali Khan (NA-2), Saleem Rehman (NA-3), Sahibzada Sibghatullah (NA-5), Mehboob Shah (NA-6), Muhammad Bashir Khan (NA-7), Junaid Akbar (NA-8), Sher Akbar Khan (NA-9), Ali Khan Jadoon (NA-16), Engr Usman Khan Tarakai (NA-19), Mujahid Ali (NA-20), Arbab Amir Ayub (NA-28), Sher Ali Arbab (NA-30), Shahid Ahmed (NA-34), Gul Dad Khan (NA-40), Sajid Khan (NA-42), Mohammad Iqbal Khan (NA-44).

Aamer Mehmood Kiyani (NA-61), Syed Faiz ul Hassan (NA-70), Chaudhry Shoukat Ali Bhatti (NA-87), Umar Aslam Khan (NA-93), Amjad Ali Khan (NA-96), Khurram Shahzad (NA-107), Faizullah (NA-109), Malik Karamat Ali Khokhar (NA-135), Syed Fakhar Imam (NA-150), Zahoor Hussain Qureshi (NA-152), Ibraheem Khan (NA-158), Tahir Iqbal (NA-164), Aurangzeb Khan Khichi (NA-165), Makhdoom Khusro Bakhtiar (NA-177), Abdul Majeed Khan (NA-187).

Andaleeb Abbas (reserved seat), Asma Qadeer (reserved seat), Maleeka Ali Bokhari (reserved seat), Munawara Bibi Baloch (reserved seat).

It’s developing story. Details to follow.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here