Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) has sent resignations of its three party leaders to Maulana Fazl-ur-Rehman, chief of the Pakistan Democratic Movement (PDM) on Tuesday.

This development comes just a day after PPP chairman Bilawal Bhutto-Zardari announced that the party members will resign “in protest against the attitude, conduct, and actions of other office-bearers of the PDM.”

The three members who resigned are Raja Pervez Ashraf, Qamar Zaman Kaira and Senator Sherry Rehman. Ashraf was the PDM’s vice president while the other two leaders were members of the steering committee.

On Monday, while addressing the media in Karachi, the Bilawal Bhutto-Zardari said that whoever wants to resign from the parliament must go ahead, but should not dictate others to follow suit.

He further said that his party’s stance from day one is that the resignations should be the last resort to topple the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) government.

He claimed the results of the recent by-election proved that the masses have rejected the PTI. If we had boycotted the by-election at the behest of other parties, the PTI would have won, he said.

It was the PPP which convinced all parties to contest by-elections, he added.

He announced that the PPP has decided to resign from the steering committee of the opposition alliance PDM on the issue of a show-cause notice.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here