The Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) is in lead in 16 of 20 constituencies, while the PML-N in three, and an independent candidate in one in the by-elections held in Punjab on Sunday, according to unofficial results.

PTI’s Makhdoom Zain Hussain Qureshi, son of party vice chairman Shah Mahmood Qureshi, has defeated PML-N’s Muhammad Salman in PP-217 Multan VII.

Qureshi secured 46,963 votes as against Salman’s 40,104.

The party also emerged victorious in PP-288 Dera Ghazi Khan IV, where Sardar Saif-ud-Din Khosa got 58,885 votes to beat Abdul Qadir Khan, who only managed 32,907.

The PTI won PP-202 Sahiwal VII, where Maj (retired) Muhammad Ghulam Sarwar got 61,989 votes to defeat PML-N’s Malik Nauman Ahmed Langriyal who got 59,167.

PTI also won PP-83 Khushab II as Malik Hassan Aslam Khan secured 48,475 votes against independent Asif Malik who got 41,752.

Meanwhile, unofficial results from 25 polling stations in Bhakkar’s PP-90 show PTI’s Irfanullah Khan Niazi maintained his lead with 10,102 votes, followed by PML-N’s Saeed Akbar Khan, who managed 7,918 votes.

Unofficial and preliminary results from 66 polling stations in Rawalpindi’s PP-7 show PTI’s Shabbir Awan leading with 14, 970 votes, followed by PML-N’s Raja Sagheer, who bagged 14,097 votes.

According to unofficial results, Mian Akram Usman of the PTI won in PP-158 Lahore 15 bagging 28,486 votes while PML-N candidate Rana Ahsan got 24,073 votes.

In Lahore’s constituency PP-167, PTI’s Shabbir Ahmad got 25,590 votes against Nazir Ahmad Chohan of the PML-N who bagged 16,537 votes.

Malik Asad Ali Khokhar of the PML-N polled 13,582 votes in PP-168 constituency of Lahore against Nawaz Awan of PTI who managed 8,068 votes.

The fourth constituency of Lahore, PP-170 was also bagged by the PTI where Malik Zaheer Abbas got 18,717 votes as against Muhammad Amin Zulqarnain’s 11,501.

The other seat grabbed by the PML-N is PP-237 Bahawalnagar 1 where Fida Hussain secured 29,201 votes to defeat PTI candidate Syed Aftab Raza who could manage 13,242 votes.

According to unofficial results, Moazzam Ali Khan of the PTI was the winner in PP-272 Muzaffargarh 5 by securing 26,128 votes. PML-N’s Syeda Zehra Basit Bukhari bagged 21,711 votes.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here