A delegation of senior opposition lawmakers submitted the no-trust motion against Prime Minister Imran Khan with the National Assembly Secretariat on Tuesday, PML-N spokesperson Marriyum Aurangzeb said.

The confirmation from her came after a delegation of opposition lawmakers, including Rana Sanaullah, Ayaz Sadiq, Shazia Marri and Marriyum Aurangzeb, had reached Parliament House in Islamabad.

Aurangzeb said National Assembly Speaker Asad Qaiser was not present in his office which is why the document was submitted with the secretariat.

PPP leader Naveed Qamar said the motion, requisitioning a National Assembly session, had signatures of more than 100 lawmakers.

According to NA rules, in order for a session to be requisitioned to vote on a no-confidence motion, signatures from at least 68 MNAs are required.

In order to make the no-confidence motion against the prime minister successful, the joint opposition requires the support of 172 MNAs. After the filing of the motion, the NA speaker has between three to seven days to summon a session of the NA to conduct voting. Last year in March, the premier had voluntarily sought a trust vote following an upset in Senate elections. In a show of strength, he had secured 178 votes – six more than required – to win the vote of confidence from the National Assembly

In a major development, former senior minister Punjab Aleem Khan joined Jahangir Tareen’s PTI faction a day earlier as he had reservations with the prime minister but did not specify whom will the group support once the no-confidence motion is moved.

At present, the government has 179 members and the opposition claims 162.


  • PTI — 155
  • MQM-P — 7
  • PML-Q — 5
  • BAP — 5
  • GDA — 3
  • Independent — 2
  • AML — 1
  • JWP — 1

Total: 179


  • PML-N — 84
  • PPP — 56
  • MMA — 15
  • BNP-M — 4
  • Independent — 2
  • ANP — 1

Total: 162

OPPOSITION’S CLAIM: The opposition is confident of having the numbers to remove PM Imran Khan.

According to insiders, the opposition claimed to have the support of 202 National Assembly members.

The opposition has claimed that they have the backing of 28 PTI lawmakers and others from an ally of the government, they said.

At least 16 PTI lawmakers have the support of PML-N, four with PPP, and two with JUI-F, sources said.

Meanwhile, six more members from the PTI are in contact with the PML-N, claimed insiders.

NO THREAT TO GOVT: Addressing at a ceremony in Rawalpindi’s Fatima Jinnah University earlier today, PM Imran had said he was ready for everything the opposition throws at him.

“The powerful desires NRO and threaten to topple the government if they don’t get it but I will not give them that as long as I am alive,” PM Imran said.

“Once again, I make it loud and clear that I will not extend the gang of thieves and dacoits any relief in the shape of NRO,” he said.

The premier had on Monday “dared” the opposition parties to table the no-confidence motion against his government, saying there is “no threat to the democratic government.”

“[The Opposition] may go ahead and fulfil its desire to table the no-trust motion but we are fully prepared,” the premier said while presiding over the PTI’s core committee meeting in Islamabad. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here