Pakistan are set to lock horns with New Zealand in the first semi-final of the ICC Men’s Twenty20 World Cup at the Sydney Cricket Stadium on Wednesday (today). The match is scheduled to start at 1 pm Pakistan Standard Time.

Pakistan will face the Kiwis for the fourth time in a World Cup semi-final. The two sides have clashed six times in the T20 World Cup history so far and Pakistan triumphed in four matches, while New Zealand managed to win two.

India and England will play the second semi-final at the Adelaide Oval stadium in Adelaide on Thursday.

The Black Caps practiced in Sydney before the big game of the mega cricket event. But, the Pakistani players took a rest, except for skipper Babar Azam, who practiced alone for one and a half hours.

The Men in Green seem to be confident as they have won their last three Group matches. They will take on New Zealand with the same winning combination. Similarly, the Black Caps also are unlikely to make any changes to the squad.

The likely teams

Pakistan: Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Babar Azam (c), Mohammad Haris, Shan Masood, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Wasim, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Haris Rauf.

New Zealand: Finn Allen, Devon Conway (wk), Kane Williamson (c), Glenn Phillips, Daryl Mitchell, James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Ish Sodhi, Lockie Ferguson.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here