The Pakistan cricket team celebrating the fall of a wicket in the fourth Pakistan-England Twenty20 at the National Stadium in Karachi on Sunday.

Pakistan won by three runs in a final over thriller that saw the teams’ fortunes seesaw until Haris Rauf took two back-to-back wickets in the penultimate over that set up the Green Shirts’ victory in the fourth Twenty20 against England at the National Stadium in Karachi on Sunday night.

The two teams are now levelled 2-2 with the next leg of the series set for Lahore (September 28, 30 and October 2).

Earlier, England captain Moeen Ali won the toss and sent Pakistan in to bat and restrict the home team to 166 runs. Though Pakistan lost only four wickets, deft bowling by the English did not allow batsmen to swing their arms freely.

Opener Mohammad Rizwan and skipper Babar Azam scored 88 and 36 runs, respectively.

England’s Reece Topley bagged two wickets conceding 37 runs.

The 167-run target that by all accounts should have been easy to chase for an English side that set a mammoth 222-run score in the previous match.

But it was not to be.

Even as the Pakistani batters failed to find their footing, the bowlers delivered, literally and figuratively, with Haris Rauf (3-32), Mohammad Hasnain (2-40) and Mohammad Wasim (1-30) pressuring the English side with their pace, while spinners Mohammad Nawaz (3-35) and Mohammad Iftikhar (0-23) restricting the run rate.

The match was Pakistan’s 200th T20I, the first team to reach the milestone.

England made three changes from the last game. Alex Hales and David Willey came into the side while Olly Stone was handed his international T20 debut.

They replaced Dawid Malan, Sam Curran and Mark Wood.

Pakistan left out Haider Ali (unfit) and Shahnawaz Dahani to bring Asif Ali and Naseem Shah.


Pakistan: Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan, Shan Masood, Asif Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hasnain, Usman Qadir, Mohammad Wasim

England: Moeen Ali (captain), Will Jacks, Harry Brook, Olly Stone, Ben Duckett, Liam Dawson, Alex Hales, Adil Rashid, Phil Salt, Reece Topley, David Willey


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here