An Awami National Party (ANP) candidate contesting for the post of Dera Ismail Khan’s tehsil mayor in the upcoming local government elections in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) was shot dead on Friday night.

According to police, two motorcyclists opened fire on Omar Khitab Sherani outside his house. He died on the spot.

His body was removed to hospital for a post-mortem examination.

The ECP, meanwhile, decided to postpone election after the murder of ANP candidate.

The party announced Sherani’s death on its official Twitter handle.

A spokesperson for the ANP, Samar Haroon Bilour, confirmed the death of Sherani in the gun attack. “Omar Khitab Sherani , ANP Candidate for Tehseel Mayor of Dera Ismail Khan has been shot dead in front of his house !!” she tweeted.

“We want justice and we want it now. This cannot go on any more.”

ELECTED UNOPPOSED: More than 2,000 candidates have been elected unopposed across Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province ahead of the first phase of local government elections scheduled to be held in 17 districts tomorrow (December 19).

In the second phase, LG polls will be held in 18 districts of the province on January 16.

Sohail Khan, spokesman for the Election Commission of Pakistan in Peshawar said, that 2,032 candidates have been elected unopposed.

According to unofficial results, 62 candidates on general seats, 145 on women seats, 105 on peasant seats, and 45 candidates on minorities’ seats have returned unopposed in the provincial capital Peshawar.

In Nowshera district, 12 candidates elected unopposed on general seats, 51 on women seats, 19 on peasant seats, 34 on youth seats, and 11 from the minorities.

In Charsadda district, nine candidates secured general seats, 55 women seats, nine peasant seats, 30 youth seats, and nine minorities’ seats.

Khyber district saw 24 candidates secure the general seats, 51 women seats, 18 peasant seats, 30 on youth seats, and 12 minorities seats.

In Mohmand district, 15 candidates won women seats unopposed, one peasant seat and five youth seats.

Mardan district saw 229 candidates secure various seats unopposed, Swabi gave 201 seats to the candidates unopposed, while 108 won their seats unopposed in Kohat.

Similarly, 14 candidates have been elected unopposed on various seats in Karak district, 72 in Hangu, 48 in Bannu, 30 in Lakki Marwat, 118 in Dera Ismael Khan, 80 in Tank, 164 in Haripur, 77 in Buner, while 52 candidates have won their seats unopposed in Bajaur tribal district.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here