The Pakistan Hockey Federation (PHF) has formed a three-member inquiry committee to probe the performance of the national team in the ongoing Asia Cup in Jakarta after its failure to qualify for the next year’s World Cup.

Surprisingly, two members of the probe committee, Kaleemullah and Nasir Ali, are also the national selectors, who gave the nod for the 20-member team after a briefing on the selection of the team that lasted an hour and a half and included head coach Siegfried Aikman. The third member of the committee is Zahir Shah of the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Hockey Association.

The national selection committee did not announce the team, which toured Europe in March, before the Asia Cup. However, for the Asia Cup the team management, headed by Aikman briefed the selectors over his decision of picking the players.

President PHF Brig (retd.) Khalid Sajjad Khokhar, while forming the probe committee demanded a report by June 20 to take action against the responsible personnel.

Pakistan will not be at a World Cup for the second time. They also failed to qualify for the 2014 edition.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here