Cricket Australia on Tuesday announced a 16-member a squad for its much-awaited One Day International (ODI) and Twenty 20 International Pakistan tour that is scheduled for March.

According to the statement issued by Cricket Australia, batsman Aaron Finch will lead the squad, while David Warner, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Mitch Starc and Glenn Maxwell will not be part of the squad.

Pat Cummins, David Warner and Josh Hazlewood will be available for the Test series against Pakistan that is going to start from March 3.

Australia’s ODI and T20 squad: Aaron Finch (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Alex Carey, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Ben McDermott, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Marcus Stoinis, Adam Zampa.

TEST SQUAD: Cricket Australia had already announced an 18-member Test squad for the tour

According to a statement issued by Cricket Australia, Mitch Marsh, Josh Inglis, and Mitchell Swepson are part of the squad, adding that spinner Ashton Agar’s name is the only addition from the extended group of players that won the Ashes series against England.

The Test squad included: Pat Cummins (c), Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Michael Neser, Steve Smith (vc), Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, and David Warner.

PAKISTAN TEAM: The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) had also announced its Test team comprising 16 players and five reserves for the home series.

“Pakistan cricket selectors announced 16 players and five reserves for the three Tests against Australia, which will be played in Rawalpindi (4-8 March), Karachi (12-16 March) and Lahore (21-25 March),” a statement issued by the PCB said.

According to PCB, three changes have been made to the national Test squad after the Bangladesh tour.

The squad includes: Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan (vice-captain), Abdullah Shafique, Azhar Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Fawad Alam, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Nawaz, Nauman Ali, Sajid Khan, Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shan Masood, Zahid Mahmood.

Reserves: Kamran Ghulam, Mohammad Abbas, Naseem Shah, Sarfaraz Ahmed and Yasir Shah.

TOUR SCHEDULE: According to schedule, Test matches will be played in Karachi (3-7 March), Rawalpindi (12-16 March), and Lahore (21-25 March), while Lahore will host the four white-ball matches from 29 March to 5 April.

The Tests will be part of the ICC World Test Championship, while the ODIs will be part of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League, a 13-team competition from which the top seven teams and hosts India will qualify directly for the 2023 event.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here