The session of the Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJK) Legislative Assembly has been convened on Tuesday (August 17) to elect a new president as Sardar Masood Khan is set to complete his five-year tenure.

President Masood has summoned a meeting of the assembly for the election.

The Pakistan Tehrik-i-Insaf (PTI) has nominated Barrister Sultan Mahmood for the coveted office while the joint opposition has named Mian Abdul Wahid.

Barrister Sultan, who has previously served as the prime minister of the AJK, has been elected on the PTI ticket from LA-3 Mirpur.

Mian Abdul Wahid

He was among the favourite contenders for the office of the prime minister when Imran Khan decided in favour of Sardar Qayyum Niazi.

According to the Election Commission, polling for the presidential election will be held on August 17 from 10 in the morning till 2 afternoon.

The AJK Assembly’s 53 members will cast their votes to elect the new president. The Chief Justice of Azad Kashmir Supreme Court will administer oath to the new president on August 24.

The tenure of incumbent President Masood will be completed on August 24.

The story was filed by the News Desk.
The Desk can be reached at


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here