Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) candidate Qadir Khan Mandokhail has bagged the NA-249 seat in the by-election held on Thursday by securing 16,156 votes.

According to provisional released early on Friday, Pakistan Muslim’s League-Nawaz (PML-N) nominee Miftah Ismail came in second with 15,473 votes, while banned Tehreek-e-Labbaik Pakistan (TLP) candidate Nazeer Ahmed Kamalvi got 11,125 votes, therefore the third spot.

Pak Sarzameen Party (PSP) chairman Syed Mustafa Kamal got 9,227 votes, while Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) leader Amjad Afridi could only manage to grab the fifth spot with 8,922 votes.

The Karachi seat fell vacant after PTI leader Faisal Vawda, who was facing a disqualification case, resigned from the National Assembly to become a senator.

Maryam Nawaz, the PML-N vice president, said the election was “stolen from PML-N by only a few hundred votes”. She demanded that the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) must withhold the “results of one of the most disputed and controversial elections”.

Meanwhile, PTI leader Khurram Sher Zaman alleged that the polls were rigged with the “ECP’s help and Sindh police”.

The story was filed by the News Desk.
The Desk can be reached at


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here